2019 Richard J. Daley Award - Oliver Nicklin

Presented at the IVCA Annual Awards Dinner presented by Kirkland & Ellis LLP on December 9, 2019

The Richard J. Daley Medal honors a single individual who has given direct and extraordinary support to the State of Illinois by participating in or being an advocate for the venture capital and private equity industry. 

  • Has directed significant effort toward improving our city, our state and the country. 
  • A person who demonstrates the highest ethical standards on both a personal and professional level. 

IVCA 2019 Richard J. Daley Medal Recipient - F. Oliver Nicklin, First Analysis

Oliver was one of the earlier venture capitalists in Chicago. He started his firm, First Analysis, in 1981, and the firm continues today as a well-recognized venture player. First Analysis has invested more than $800 million across 13 funds. Several Chicago-area venture capital and private equity firms, including Apex Venture Partners, were spawned through Oliver’s work and mentoring. 

Oliver was one of the earlier venture capitalists in Chicago. 

“Oliver has always spent substantial amounts of his personal time with his community. He has been involved with and continues to serve on numerous boards in Chicago. Among these are Catholic Charities, the Regenstein Foundation, and the Field Foundation. He has always been observant and attentive to the concerns and relationships of others. In that regard, he established an organization to bring together leaders of the Christian, Muslim, and Jewish faiths to try to create harmony and better understandings. More recently, he has personally funded research by two major Chicago medical institutions for potential treatments of celiac-related diseases and cancer.” Tom Thompson 

Previous Awardees are:

  • 2017: Howard A. Tullman, 1871
  • 2016: Ellen A. Rudnick, Chicago Booth
  • 2015: Warren G. Holtsberg, MVC Capital
  • 2014: Steven N. Miller, Origin Ventures
  • 2013: James J. O'Connor, Jr., MVC Capital
  • 2012: James A. Johnson, Apex Venture Partners
  • 2011: Scott F. Meadow, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • 2010: Robert L. Fealy, Duchossois Technology Partners
  • 2009: J.B. Pritzker, The Pritzker Group/New World Ventures
  • 2008: Richard L. Thomas, First Chicago NBD Corporation
  • 2007: Steven N. Kaplan, University of Chicago GSB
  • 2006: Donald W. Phillips, WP Global Partners
  • 2005: Norman R. Bobins, LaSalle Bank, N.A.
  • 2004: James C. Tyree, Mesirow Financial
  • 2003: Bruce V. Rauner, GTCR Golder Rauner, LLC
  • 2002: Martin J. Koldyke, Frontenac Company