Stanley C. Golder Award - Keith Crandell

Presented at the IVCA Annual Awards Dinner presented by Kirkland & Ellis LLP on December 9, 2019

The Stanley C. Golder Award honors individuals who have made profound and lasting contributions to the private equity industry in Illinois and is awarded based on the following: 

  • Is a recognized leader in venture/private equity investing. 
  • Has a strong track record of investment results.  
  • A person who demonstrates the highest ethical standards on both a personal and professional level. 
  • A history of achievements that reflect high standards for him/herself and others. 
2019 Stanley C. Golder Medal Recipient - Keith Crandell, ARCH Venture Partners

Keith Crandell is a Co-Founder and Managing Director of ARCH Venture Partners, a 30-year-old seed and early stage venture capital partnership with offices in Chicago, Austin, San Francisco, Seattle and Dublin. Now investing from Fund X, over its life ARCH has raised $4.4billion to invest in disruptive science with as little as $50K and as much as $150M, per company with Portfolio Companies and Limited Partners, located all over the world.

 “ARCH was one of the first firms to pursue a VC model of proactively identifying the investment areas in need of disruption and actively recruiting the top scientific and managerial assets and talent necessary to take the idea to fruition, and ultimately to success. He is actively sought out by stakeholders throughout the venture capital ecosystem for his impeccable judgment and thoughtful guidance. Keith is a true leading light in our industry and I am proud to call him a friend.” Robin Painter 

Previous Awardees are:

  • 2017: John A. Hatherly, Wynnchurch Capital
  • 2016: Paul J. Carbone, Pritzker Group Private Capital
  • 2015: Peter Barris, New Enterprise Associates
  • 2013: Theodore L. Koenig, Monroe Capital
  • 2012: T. Bondurant French, Adams Street Partners
  • 2011: Brian P. Simmons, CHS Capital
  • 2010: Lester B. Knight, RoundTable Healthcare Partners
  • 2009: Bryan Cressey, Cressey & Co.
  • 2009: John L. Hines, President (Ret.) Continental Illinois Venture Corporation, Continental Illinois Equity Corporation
  • 2008: Kevin R. Evanich, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
  • 2007: Samuel B. Guren, Guren Capital Management, LLC
  • 2006: Paul J. Finnegan, Madison Dearborn Partners
  • 2006: Samuel M. Mencoff, Madison Dearborn Partners
  • 2005: Gary P. Brinson, GP Brinson Investments
  • 2004: Ned Heizer, Jr.
  • 2003: Bret R. Maxwell, MK Capital
  • 2002: Carl D. Thoma, Thoma Cressey Equity Partners